News and Announcements

Catalyst “Leans In”

NEW YORK (March 6, 2013)—Catalyst is proud to partner with the Lean In campaign, supporting its creation of a community that can move us toward a more equal world and, more specifically, advance women to business leadership.  

Catalyst believes that we must raise the level of conversation on the pivotal role that companies, women, and men play in expanding opportunities for women and business.

“Catalyst is leaning in because we believe that women must achieve parity with men in opportunity, leadership and pay, to avoid marginalization in every other arena. We are leaning in because we know that as gender gaps close, we all experience significant improvement in our workplaces and in our lives.” Ilene H. Lang, President & CEO, Catalyst.

Companies must lean in for women—that’s essential. When companies lean in, women can lean in as well and advance to leadership. Without that first step, there is no progress.

Catalyst research shows that women aspire to lead. That said, companies must expect them to lead, while providing the critical opportunities that will enable them to succeed. High expectations breed success and talent follows opportunity. Clearly, women will look for companies leaning in and choose to work where their work is valued rather than where advancement is stymied and talents not supported.

Our research shows that women lag men in business leadership positions and in pay Catalyst and Lean In will work passionately to reverse this trend.

When we all lean in together, we all benefit—women, men, companies, society, and economies. The impact will be profound.

Founded in 1962, Catalyst is the leading nonprofit membership organization expanding opportunities for women and business. With offices in the United States, Canada, Europe, and India, and more than 600 members, Catalyst is the trusted resource for research, information, and advice about women at work. Catalyst annually honors exemplary organizational initiatives that promote women's advancement with the Catalyst Award.